2016 stargazer lily at Janies
Photo credit Janie Anderson

My Blessing 

I need a blessing today.

My heart is broken in two.

I need a blessing Lord.

What am I to do?

I will examine my past,

To rid myself of my shame.

You know my every thought.

You will call me by my name.

 

Is there anything in my past,

That has affected who I am.

Am I willing to follow You Lord,

And not my own plan?

How much can I get rid of,

That has a blemish and stain?

Where have I let You down Lord?

When have I caused You pain?

 

It is only by Your grace,

That I have any blessing at all.

You have held my hand through life,

And have prevent many a fall.

You have blessed me more often,

Than I could ever see.

You gave me Your Son,

To set this captive free.

 

That is the only blessing,

That I should ever need.

It is from Your grace Father God,

And not by any of my deeds.

Thank You for Your covering.

Thank You for Your love.

Thank You for my blessings,

That flow from Your hand above.

TRW 7-18-16

Genesis 32 :9-12

 

9 And Jacob said, O God of my father Abraham, and God of my father Isaac, the LORD which saidst unto me, Return unto thy country, and to thy kindred, and I will deal well with thee:10 I am not worthy of the least of all the mercies, and of all the truth, which thou hast shewed unto thy servant; for with my staff I passed over this Jordan; and now I am become two bands.

11 Deliver me, I pray thee, from the hand of my brother, from the hand of Esau: for I fear him, lest he will come and smite me, and the mother with the children.12 And thou adist, I will surely do thee good, and make thy seed as the sand of the sea, which cannot be numbered for multitude.

 

In the Old Testament, a father’s blessing was a very important thing. This story is a well know story of the blessing that Jacob received out of deceit. His life had much hardship and deceit that followed his life, because of what he had been involved in earlier. He had to humble himself before God and review his life or examine his conscience and realize the wrong he had done. Sometimes we receive a blessing just because God covers us with a blessing. Many times in life we need to give it all to God to receive your blessing. When we receive our blessing, we realize it is not by what we did, but because of how much our God loves us.

