20160116_121055

The Past is Not My Future

 

The past is not my future.

I will let all the bad go away.

It is time for a new life.

I know who I am today.

I cannot hold onto my regrets,

But will look for my future.

I am what I believe.

I can be what I nurture.

 

I will follow my Lord,

And all that He said.

I can look for what is good,

And not live in dread.

I will look for my purpose,

And all He wants me to be.

I will open my heart and soul,

For God to pour into me.

 

I am a child of the King.

I want all that is mine.

I want Him to be proud of me.

For Him, I want to shine.

I want to be a shining star.

I want that heavenly glow.

I want to bring others,

To love the God I know.

 

Today is today.

Tomorrow is yet to come.

I will let go of yesterday,

And have rest in the setting sun.

I will thank God for it all.

For all that He has done for me.

I am looking forward to my future,

With my God in eternity.

TRW 8-09-16

 

Song of Solomon 2:11-12

 

11 For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone;

12 The flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land;

 

God gave Solomon wisdom. This verse shows the wisdom of positive thinking and the comfort in knowing God. God is good. He is love and peace and if we abide in God and God is in us, then we can walk in this love and peace. We do not need to dwell on the past. Our past does not need to define our future. Some of our past has to be let go. That is the reason that God not only forgives, but He forgets. He does not leave any of the ugliness of our sins stain what He sees as beautiful. We need to do the same. We need to let our mistakes of the past go. The only use of those mistakes, is to grow into a different person than what we were. Look forward to the life that God has planned for us. He created paradise for man and it  was lost due to sin, but this peace and happiness is available for those who walk with Him.

