oct2009 chincoteague 069  

My Looking Glass

 

My looking glass is stained,

With troubles of my past.

I need to see more clearly,

Toward a future that will last.

 

My looking glass is clouded,

With the shame of sin.

I need to accept forgiveness,

To let His clarity in.

 

My looking glass is magnified,

With mistakes that I own.

I need to see more clearly,

To find my way home.

 

My looking glass is cracked,

It needs some instant repair.

My God can fix anything,

Because He really cares.

 

My looking glass is broken.

It needs to be thrown away.

I need a new way to see things.

I need to find the way.

 

Grace will be my looking glass,

That comes from God above.

He can see my future,

Through the abundance of His love

 

I can see more clearly now,

As I look through His eyes.

I have a loving Savior,

Who is all knowing and wise.

 

TRW 8-10-16

1 Corinthians 13:9-13

 

9 For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.

10 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

 

We see things from our sight and from the limits of our mind. Our minds have been clouded with the mistakes and the heartaches of the past. I recently had cataract surgery and I was amazed that the repaired eye had a different hue than the non-repaired eye. The eye with the cataract had a yellow tint and the corrected vision appeared to be a whiter light with a bluish cast to it. Sometimes the dimmer vision from our past gets in the way of seeing a brighter future. Sometimes we have to cast out the memories of bad things in our past to let God’s light of our future to shine in.

