20161104_160338-001

A Long Way to Go

 

I have started my race,

But I have a long way to go.

There is so much more to do,

And so much more to know.

 

The race of life is tough,

Because the devil disrupts the flow.

He tries to mess me up.

He is everywhere I go.

 

I have to keep moving.

To avoid his attacks.

In the midst of the race,

I find things that I lack.

 

I need to find some courage,

So I don’t give up and quit.

God gave me my start,

So I must be willing to commit.

 

I have a measure of faith,

But I have a long way to go.

I will go to the One,

That will help me as I grow.

 

I will grow in patience,

When the road seems too rough.

I will trust in my Master ,

When the “going gets tough”.

 

I will be held accountable,

The choices are mine to make.

I will go through the narrow path,

To avoid the obvious mistakes.

 

TRW 12-08-16

Hebrews 12:1

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

 

In this race of life, there is a start and a finish. The start is the miracle of birth. We are each special with special abilities and personalities. Because we are all different, so is the course that we have to take. We all make different choices which will give us a different outcome. The course of life is filled with distractions and temptations, which make the trip much harder than it needs to be. We have to put “blinders” on our eyes and our mind at times to prevent us from yielding to temptation. Satan is around every corner to try to get us off-course. He tries to discourage us and mock us with the mistakes that we make. When we get discouraged, it takes us longer to get re-started. We need to keep focused on God and our eternity. We need the peace of God, so we need to go to the map which gives us the direction to our life. The peace of God can be found as we run our race. We can find security in the midst of the turmoil.

The more successes we have, the better we learn the way and the more we learn to avoid those wide paths to destruction. Run the race with the Word of God flowing from your mouth. Stand on the scripture that addresses where you are at, in this race called life.  You can always rely on the direction given by your Creator. He can show you the way to eternity.

