img_6895-001

The Belly of the Whale

 

The belly of the whale,

Is a nasty place to be,

But Jonah came out better,

As he was finally set free.

 

He decide to finally do,

What God had directed.

He still did not like it,

But his mind was corrected.

 

There are times in life,

That we don’t like the task,

But we have heard from God,

And need to do what He asked,

 

To run from what God wants,

Will bring a wilderness in our heart.

We will roam without direction,

And not know where to start.

 

So start with His Word,

And look for His will,

And if you don’t understand,

Then pray and be still.

 

He will open the door,

At the right time and place.

He will instill you with ability,

And cover you with His grace.

 

He has a good life planned,

But don’t run from your task.

Get out of the whale’s belly,

And do what your Father asks.

 

TRW 12-28-16

Jonah 2:1-10

1 Then Jonah prayed unto the LORD his God out of the fish’s belly,

2 And said, I cried by reason of mine affliction unto the LORD, and he heard me; out of the belly of hell cried I, and thou heardest my voice.

3 For thou hadst cast me into the deep, in the midst of the seas; and the floods compassed me about: all thy billows and thy waves passed over me.

4 Then I said, I am cast out of thy sight; yet I will look again toward thy holy temple. 5 The waters compassed me about, even to the soul: the depth closed me round about, the weeds were wrapped about my head.

6 I went down to the bottoms of the mountains; the earth with her bars was about me forever: yet hast thou brought up my life from corruption, O LORD my God. 7 When my soul fainted within me I remembered the LORD: and my prayer came in unto thee, into thine holy temple.

8 They that observe lying vanities forsake their own mercy.

9 But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD.

10 And the LORD spake unto the fish, and it vomited out Jonah upon the dry land.

 

When you run from God and His will for your life, you will find yourself in a mess, without direction. Jonah was running from what God asked of him to do.

He found himself in a dangerous place all alone. He was in a pit of despair and thought he would surely die. He did not forget who God was, but he did not really want to live for Him either. He was reluctant to do what God asked. He found himself all alone and close to death and called out upon the Lord. Even when a person is ashamed of the path they took in life, God is waiting on them to come back to Him. Sometimes in the wilderness of life, you find a renewed strength. You will have a new conviction to complete the task before you. You finally realize that you came close to death and did not have the time you needed to do what God wanted of you. Many times in life, God is waiting for you to take the next move. He does not complete the tasks for you, but He will work through you.

