20161229_151139

  Not About Me

 

As I walked through this life,

And found no joy in it.

I found it was not about me,

And what I gained from it.

I felt disappointment,

No matter how much I would do.

I couldn’t find satisfaction,

As I made my way through.

 

After all I had tried,

I finally learned to put God first.

He was the only thing that would help,

My hunger and my thirst.

I filled my mind with Him.

I started to drink from His fountain.

I finally felt peace in my valley,

And was able to climb that mountain.

 

I finally found the path,

That He had set just for me.

There was completion in Him,

When I found what He wanted me to be.

I found it was not about me,

But it was about Him instead.

I began to feel alive and well,

Instead of feeling empty and dead.

 

I felt His abundant grace,

As it covered my whole life,

Knowing all was well,

As He dealt with my strife.

He replaced my anxiety,

With joy and with love.

Life is not about me,

But my Father up above.

TRW 2-09-17

Ecclesiastes 2:1-4

 

 I said in mine heart, Go to now, I will prove thee with mirth, therefore enjoy pleasure: and, behold, this also is vanity. 2 I said of laughter, It is mad: and of mirth, What doeth it?

3 I sought in mine heart to give myself unto wine, yet acquainting mine heart with wisdom; and to lay hold on folly, till I might see what was that good for the sons of men, which they should do under the heaven all the days of their life.

4 I made me great works; I builded me houses; I planted me vineyards:……..

 

Solomon was known as the wisest man on earth, but he found himself without joy from his accomplishments. Solomon went on and on about his accomplishments throughout the next several verses, only to say that he found no joy in it. He did not like his life.  After reviewing all that he had done, he finally came to the only conclusion for peace, joy and happiness.

 

Ecclesiastes 12:13

Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.

 

Life is not about us, but is about God and His purpose for us. When we learn to walk in the purpose that He has set for us, we will find contentment in life. He is the source of our true happiness.

