may 2017 picts 207

Sunshine in My Soul

 

It may be raining outside,

But I have sunshine in my soul.

Thunder may be threatening,

But My God will keep me whole.

 

I will not be torn apart,

By the threats of Satan and sin.

In Jesus I find my victory.

With Him I will always win.

 

I can rest in my hope in Him,

As the lightning flashes about.

I can praise Him through the storm.

In trials I will sing and shout.

 

I will use this storm I am facing,

To find His peace in my soul.

I will not be bent and broken,

But walk in faith, that I am whole.

 

I will wait on the sunshine,

That I will bask in tomorrow.

It will take these tears and rain,

And dry up all the sorrow.

 

I believe in God’s faithfulness,

Even when things seems so glum.

I know the source of my sustenance.

I know where I came from.

 

Rain is a necessary thing,

To make the flowers grow.

I have faith in His power,

To make me well and while

 

It may be raining outside,

But I have sunshine in my soul.

Thunder may be threatening,

But My God will keep me whole.

 

TRW 5-25-17

 

Psalms 89:9 

Thou rulest the raging of the sea: when the waves thereof arise, thou stillest them.

Psalms 107:29

He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still.

Mark 4:37-40

37And there arose a great storm of wind, and the waves beat into the ship, so that it was now full. 38And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish? 39And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm. 40And he said unto them, Why are ye so fearful? how is it that ye have no faith?

My grandfather was a farmer and I remember trembling at the storm as I stood behind him on the rockers of his rocking chair on the porch. He knew that the storms were necessary for his crops to be able to live. He found comfort in watching the storms. I remember that peace, standing behind this big man who remained calm in the storms. I think this is a representation of how God has things under His control. I can stand behind Him as I face the storms. His peace and grace are what gives me hope for a bright tomorrow. I can sit on that rocker, and wait for the storms to end.

God is in front of us as we face the storms in life.  Repeat these words to yourself: “Be still and know that I am God”.

